Charlene R. Johnson, Certified Archetypal Consultant

Certified by Caroline Myss’ CMED, otherwise known as Caroline Myss Educational Institute.

The Virgin

The idea of archetypes has been around for a very long time. The science of astrology was one of the first indicators of the recognition of archetypal patterns, while Carl Jung, who recognized that we are all part of the collective unconscious, turned it into a science.

An archetype is simply a pattern of power. When we know our own personal patterns of power, we can become much more aware of who is on board when and be sure that we are not responding to our environment in a habitual or “instinctive” way instead of consciously.

Although archetypes are impersonal patterns of influence that are both ancient and universal, they become personalized by you. We believe that everyone has 12 basic archetypes which provide the basis of your personality, your drives and ambitions, even your beliefs and motivations. They are a system of “guardian angels” and they can alert us to danger or negative habits when we are conscious of them. Unfortunately, when we are not conscious of them, they can step into our conversations and daily actions without our knowledge and exhibit shadow behavior when we least need it. Everyone has the four “Survival Archetypes,” and they have practiced assuring your survival – whatever it takes – since childhood. When feeling threatened, they make choices for us, which may not be the choices we would make if conscious of their existence.

The Companion

The Visionary

All archetypes have a light and shadow side. Because we don’t like those dark parts of ourselves, they are often parts we deny, which means we cannot change them or use them more effectively by bringing them into the light. Becoming aware of your own archetypes and which are present when, can be a source of great power. “Real liberation comes not from glossing over or repressing painful states of feeling, but only from experiencing them to the full.” Carl Jung

Archetypal consulting is a process of determining your 12 basic archetypes and learning what roles they play in your life. Just as with astrology, we can then determine which other archetypes “overlay” our basic 12 in a kind of progressed process so that you can also recognize other archetypes that show up at certain times in your life, or during certain events.

The Hunter

(352) 274-2100